DipTESOL: A Guide to Understanding the DipTESOL

The DipTESOL is an internationally accepted English language qualification awarded by the Trinity College London.

DipTESOL -Background

A Guide to Understanding the DipTESOL

A Guide to Understanding the DipTESOL

The formal name of the program is Licentiate Diploma in TESOL also referred to as the LTCL DipTESOL or simply the DipTESOL. It is a level seven language certificate that is meant for more advanced applicants. The DipTESOL is intended for applicants that already have experience teaching English as a foreign language. The DipTESOL is a full qualification in regards to the TESOL terms.

The Goals of the DipTESOL

  • The program is designed to help further professional expertise and knowledge in the English language.
  • Allows for teachers to gain more knowledge concerning how they are teaching the language to their students as well as additional contextual problems.
  • The program allows applicants to extend and refine their communication abilities as well as adopt different practical skills
  • The program allows for language teachers to advance to a more sought after or prestigious positions.
  • The program allows applicants to positively contribute to the overall development of TESOL programs around the world.

DipTESOL – How Does it Work?

The program is broken down into four different units of study. The four units are:

  1. The Written Paper: This first unit consists of examining written essays and other documentation to gain an understanding of the applicant’s knowledge of the language, their professional development, and how they effectively learn and teach.
  2. The Coursework Portfolio: This second unit is an externally moderated portfolio. The portfolio should contain all the records of development professionally as well as original research and designs.
  3. The Interview: This third unit consists of an interview being conducted. Applicants will have an opportunity to display their understanding of phonetics and phonology when applied towards the English language as well as discuss problems related to learning and effectively teaching phonology.
  4. The Assessed Teaching: This final unit is used to determine where an applicant is at in terms of teaching. This final stage will consists of four moderated lessons that will be assessed internally as well as externally.

Entry Requirements for the DipTESOL

  • Applicants must have completed a previous TESOL course that is recognized by the Trinity College London.
  • The applicant must have their first degree as some of these courses will equivalent master’s studies.
  • The applicant must have conducted a minimum of 2 years in a full time ESOL teaching position or the equivalent of 960 hours of teaching. These two years of experience have to have been undertaken no longer than five years prior to starting the program.
  • The applicant must be proficient in the English language as these courses are conducted on an advanced learning level.


English language qualification awarded by the Trinity College London

English language qualification awarded by the Trinity College London

The DipTESOL program offers a balanced program that allows applicants up to two years to complete all four units required for certification.

Additional Perks to the DipTESOL Program

  • In some instances participants in this program can be awarded credit towards their MA.
  • This program allows for teachers to take a step back and reevaluate their teaching methods and determine how effective they are when applying them to real life situations.
  • Applicants will leave the DipTESOL program with a better understanding of the English language.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *